Each spring, the Department of Rhetoric and Communication Studies and the Speech Center come together to host The Laureate, an awards ceremony that recognizes the University’s best orators, debaters and communication studies students. Speech consultants are also honored.

2009-20010 awards honored students in the following categories:

Leadership Award
Katharine Fockler
Given to a student who has demonstrated outstanding leadership both within the RHCS discipline and in the broader University community.

Keynote Speaker Award
Beth Ann Platt
Given to a student who represents RHCS well and by invitation of the faculty, is asked to give the keynote address at The Laureate.

Undergraduate Research Award
Nadine Saint
Recognition of outstanding achievement in undergraduate research

Academic Excellence Award
Stephanie Johnson
Given to graduating seniors with a cumulative GPA of 3.6 or higher.

Lexicon Award
Amy Szerlong
Given to an RHCS major in memory of Larry Witkos, an RHCS major who died of leukemia one week before he would have carried the mace at graduation, for “being someone Larry would have liked.” Larry is remembered for “The Lexicon,” a dictionary he wrote early in his Richmond career. Winners of this award receive a copy.

Brittany Robertson Service Award
Brian Agnis
Launched in 2007 to honor a student who has demonstrated outstanding service, commitment and dedication to the Speech Center. The award is named in honor of Brittany Robertson ’07, the first recipient.

Voice of the University Award
Chris Mooney, Men’s Basketball Head Coach
Given to a faculty or staff member for being a “voice” that represents the University in an outstanding manner.

The Sully Speaks
Mycal Kelly
This annual award recognizes the winner of a competition designed to “promote public speaking for the business world.”

Most Valuable Debater

Callie Dowdy and Melissa Leeworthy
Given to the most valuable debater on the team, someone who consistently goes above and beyond both in performance and dedication to the team.

Most Improved Debater
Travis Henschen
Given to a student who makes significant improvements over the course of one season, often significant enough to progress from one competition level to another.

Most Outstanding JV Debater
Sarah Gehrke
Given to a student or students who come to Richmond with minimal debate experience but do exceptionally well competing in the junior varsity circuit.

Most Outstanding Novice Debater
Alex Borwick
Given to a student with no previous debate experience who makes vast improvements over the course of their first year.

Dr. David Thomas Coach’s Award
Ashley Fortner
Given to a student or students who exhibit a passion for the evaluation, generation and criticism of argument.

Researcher of the Year
James Farr and Lucas Hakkenberg
Given to a student who produces well laid out arguments with the best evidence possible.