The School of Professional and Continuing Studies continued its tradition of honoring excellence among students, faculty and alumni during its annual SPCS Night celebration.

The School bestowed the following awards during the ceremony.

Student Academic Awards

  • Richard W. Leatherman, Sr., and Ida Mae Leatherman Mace Award: Samantha Eastlack
  • U.S. Flag Bearer: James Beck
  • University of Richmond Flag Bearer: Rob Phillips
  • School of Professional and Continuing Studies Banner Bearer: Jennifer Osterman

Golden Key Awards

  • Amanda Kehoe
  • Debbie Everhart
  • Jen Ferlmann
  • Yolanda Mordue

Jean H. Proffitt Student Service Award: Mark Gan

Annual Book Awards


  • James W. Lanham Award for Excellent in Curriculum and Instruction: Sarah Fagan
  • Catherine S. Fisher Award for Excellence in Educational Leadership: Jenny Andrews

Human Resource Management

  • Steve Neal Book Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Achievement: Trish Stevick
  • Steve Neal Book Award for Outstanding Graduate Achievement: Joanna Kuczynski

Information Systems

  • George E. Christopher and George W. Swartz Memorial Book Award: Chris Headley

IT Management

  • McDonald Davis Jr. Book Award: Angel Reed

Liberal Arts

  • Investment Consultants and Management Company of Virginia Book Award: Yolanda Mordue
  • Daniel McDonald Roberts and Frances Taylor Roberts Master of Liberal Arts Memorial Book Award: Tom Parfitt

Nonprofit Studies

  • Louis J. Narduzzi Memorial Book Award: Caitlin Figura

Paralegal Studies

  • William R. Marshall Jr. Memorial Book Award: Melissa Hill

Teacher Licensure Program

  • Samuel E. Perry, Jr. and Nancy B. Perry Book Award (Grades K-6): Colleen Connolly
  • Ann C. Taylor Book Award (Grades 7-12): Caroline Tarin

Additional Awards and Honors

  • Elizabeth Spindler Scott Book Scholarship Award: Jen Ferlmann
  • Taylor Kie Cousins Award for Service to the University Community: Jim Kochany
  • Colonel (U.S.A., Ret.) Porcher L. Taylor, Jr., Ph.D. Book Award for Community Leadership: Lisa Cheney 
  • Joanita Bbaale Senoga Book Award in Recognition of Academic Excellence by a Student Whose Native Language is not English: Jordanka Kida
  • The Stratton and Peggy Almond Memorial Book Scholarship Awards
    • Shayla Herbert (Richmond)
    • Debbie Everhart (Germanna)
  • Curriculum & Instruction M.Ed. Comprehensive Exams: Passing with Distinction
    • Lizzy Marchant
    • Anne Hawkins
    • Tatiana Sumrell
  • Educational Leadership & Policy Studies Comprehensive Exams: Passing with Distinction
    • Jenny Andrews
    • Mary Beth Johnson
    • Sharon Middleton
    • Cynthia Patey
    • Courtney Swink

Commencement Speakers

  • Student Speaker: Lisa Cheney
  • Gibb Family Distinguished Alumni Award: Catherine W. Eagles, ACP, C’00
  • Itzkowitz Family Distinguished Adjunct Faculty Award: Daniel L. Hocutt, R’92, G’98