Outstanding students, faculty & alumni honored during virtual SPCS Night celebration

May 5, 2021

The School of Professional and Continuing Studies continued its tradition of honoring excellence among students, faculty and alumni during its annual SPCS Night celebration on May 5, 2021, held virtually via Zoom in response to the coronavirus pandemic.

The School bestowed the following awards during the ceremony.

Student Academic Awards

  • Richard W. Leatherman, Sr., and Ida Mae Leatherman Mace Award: Kenny Buchholz
  • U.S. Flag Bearer: April Bittner
  • University of Richmond Flag Bearer: Anne Chapman
  • SPCS Banner Bearer: Jeremy Tozier

Annual Book Awards


  • James W. Lanham Award for Excellence in Curriculum and Instruction: Casey Parker
  • Catherine S. Fisher Award for Excellence in Educational Leadership: Filicia Artis

Human Resource Management

  • Steve Neal Book Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Achievement: Ashley Snider
  • Steve Neal Book Award for Outstanding Graduate Achievement: Jeremy Grant

Information Systems

  • George E. Christopher and George W. Swartz Memorial Book Award: John Crabtree

IT Management

  • McDonald Davis Jr. Book Award: Lisa Orlosky

Liberal Arts

  • Kuehl Book Award in Recognition of Excellence in the Bachelor of Liberal Arts Program: Adrienne Stewart
  • Daniel McDonald Roberts and Frances Taylor Roberts Master of Liberal Arts Memorial Book Award: Anne Chapman

Nonprofit Studies

  • Louis J. Narduzzi Memorial Book Award: Drew Blakely & Black Stack

Paralegal Studies

  • William R. Marshall Jr. Memorial Book Award: Rachel Young

Teacher Licensure Program

  • Samuel E. Perry, Jr. and Nancy B. Perry Book Award (Grades K-6): Cooper Sved
  • Ann C. Taylor Book Award (Grades 7-12): Marielle Jones

Additional Awards and Honors

  • Elizabeth Spindler Scott Book Scholarship Award: Dan Thigpen
  • Jean H. Proffitt Student Service Award: Matthew Ritchie
  • Taylor Kie Cousins Award for Service to the University Community: Ashley Snider
  • Colonel (U.S.A., Ret.) Porcher L. Taylor, Jr., Ph.D. Book Award for Community Leadership: Mica Morgan 
  • Joanita Bbaale Senoga Book Award in Recognition of Academic Excellence by a Student Whose Native Language is not English: Véronique Zara, Sharif Delsouze & Ani Gyurijyan
  • Educational Leadership & Policy Studies Comprehensive Exams: Passing with Distinction
    • Danielle Brown, Jason Collins, Allyson Goyette, Tracy Graves, Madeline Hargis, Destiny Reaves and Melissa Thurston

Commencement Speakers

  • Student Speaker: Cooper Sved
  • Gibb Family Distinguished Alumni Award: Margaret Dalton, C’12
  • Itzkowitz Family Distinguished Adjunct Faculty Award: Drew Baker, C’08

Event Program