SPCS celebrates faculty promotions & service awards at annual ceremony

January 12, 2018

Faculty in the School of Professional and Continuing Studies celebrated promotion announcements and service awards during the annual awards ceremony held during the spring faculty meeting on January 1, 2018.

Prior to celebrating the accomplishments of the School’s faculty, the meeting featured comments from Senior Association Dean Pat Brown and Dean Jamelle Wilson, along with a presentation on The Empathy Project by Frederick Talbott, Visiting Lecturer in Management Communications from the Robins School of Business.

Dean Wilson highlighted events and accomplishments since the previous adjunct faculty meeting, and Senior Associate Dean Pat Brown introduced two new adjunct faculty members: Prof. John Hendron, Education, and Dr. Abbi Haggerty, Nonprofit Studies. Dean Wilson also introduced the School’s first ever artist-in-residence, producer, rapper and DJ Mad Skillz, who will team-teach a class on Hip Hop in America with Dr. Erik Nielson and headline a talk and panel discussion titled Sampling Black History in February.

The annual awards ceremony is traditionally held during the spring faculty meeting. Promotions along with service awards in five-year increments are announced and celebrated during the ceremony. Promotions and awards are listed below.

Adjunct Faculty Promotions

The following adjunct faculty members earned promotions during this year’s award ceremony. Promotions are awarded based on documented service, scholarship, instructional excellence, and peer review and mentoring. 

  • Steven D. Brown, from Adjunct Associate Professor to Adjunct Professor, Human Resource Management
  • Sarah Calveric, from Adjunct Assistant Professor to Adjunct Associate Professor, Education
  • Ray Drinkwater, from Adjunct Assistant Professor to Adjunct Associate Professor, Liberal Arts
  • Tim Duffee, from Adjunct Associate Professor to Adjunct Professor, Liberal Arts

Adjunct Faculty Service Awards

5 years of service

  • Lynn Bland
  • Rob McAdams
  • Jeter Watson

10 years of service

  • Deborah Carvelli

15 years of service

  • George Hiller
  • David Kitchen
  • Elizabeth Siebers
  • Linda Fisher Thornton
  • Chris Turpin

20 years of service

  • Porcher Taylor
  • Ellen Walk