Sampling of engraved keepsakes representing service awards for service awards in five-year increments.
Photo by Kay Robertson

Faculty promotions, awards announced during spring SPCS faculty meeting

January 7, 2022

SPCS Faculty Update

Faculty in the School of Professional & Continuing Studies celebrated promotion announcements and service awards during the annual awards ceremony held during the spring faculty meeting on January 10, 2020.

Prior to celebrating the accomplishments of the School’s faculty, the meeting focused on expectations for the Spring 2022 semester, along with a brief Q&A session with Dean Jamelle Wilson, related to the University’s ongoing response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Associate Dean Tom Shields and Dean Wilson presided over the announcement of service awards, followed by Shields announcing the winner of the SPCS Innovations in Teaching Award. The winner, Adjunct Assistant Professor of HR Management Susan Wilkes, was recognized by students for her effective use of learning technologies, especially Zoom, in the classroom.

The annual awards ceremony is traditionally held during the spring faculty meeting. Promotions in SPCS along with service awards in five-year increments are announced and celebrated during the ceremony. Promotions and awards are listed below.

SPCS Faculty Promotions

  • Dr. Jan Nelson was promoted from Adjunct Assistant Professor to Adjunct Associate Professor of HR Management.
  • Dr. Wendell Roberts was promoted from Adjunct Associate Professor to Adjunct Professor of Education.

SPCS Faculty Service Awards

5 years of service

  • Allison Brenning
  • Nora Bryant
  • Joe Douglas
  • Jon Glass
  • Lauranett Lee
  • Paula Marks
  • Lee Meeks
  • Lisa Micou
  • Deborah Napoli
  • Jan Nelson
  • Robert Nomberg
  • James Raines
  • Jason Reed
  • Christina Saunders
  • Andrew Schoeneman
  • Beth Tiegen
  • Robert Williams

10 years of service

  • Dirk Burruss
  • Harold Fitrer
  • Laura Kuti
  • Lionel Mew
  • David Myers
  • Erik Nielson

15 years of service

  • John Barr
  • Chris Lee
  • Chris Wieder

20 years of service

  • Dan Geary
  • David Kitchen
  • Kelley Lane
  • Russ Leonard
  • Sam Perry, Jr.

25 years of service

  • Dick Leatherman
  • Gene Maurakis
  • Dan Roberts

University of Richmond 25-Year Service Medallions

In addition to SPCS promotions and service awards, recipients of the University of Richmond 25 year service medallion were announced. The UR Service Medallion is awarded for 25 years of service to the University of Richmond.

  • John Alley
  • Jada Banks
  • Dick Leatherman
  • Gene Maurakis