Each spring, the Department of Rhetoric and Communication Studies and the Speech Center come together to host The Laureate, an awards ceremony that recognizes the University’s best orators, debaters and communication studies students. Speech consultants are also honored.

2006–2007 awards honored students in the following categories:

Leadership Award
Lauren Henry
Given to a student who has demonstrated outstanding leadership both within the RHCS discipline and in the broader University community.

Keynote Speaker Award
Jonathan Ward
Given to a student who represents RHCS well and by invitation of the faculty, is asked to give the keynote address at the Laureate.

Academic Excellence Award
Jessica Scrimale
Given to graduating seniors with a cumulative GPA of 3.6 or higher.

Research Excellence Award
Genevieve Goulding
Given to a student who produces undergraduate research of exception depth and quality.

Lexicon Award
Ryan Locke
Given to an RHCS major in memory of Larry Witkos, an RHCS major who died of leukemia one week before he would have carried the mace at graduation, for “being someone Larry would have liked.” Larry is remembered for “The Lexicon,” a dictionary he wrote early in his Richmond career. Winners of this award receive a copy.

Brittany Robertson Loyalty Award
Brittany Robertson
Launched in 2007 to honor a student who has demonstrated outstanding service, commitment and dedication to the Speech Center. The award is named in honor of Brittany Robertson ’07, the first recipient.

Voice of the University Award
Lee Stevens, Humanities Librarian
Given to a faculty or staff member for being a “voice” that represents the University in an outstanding manner.

Elizabeth Rae Hodkinson Scholarship Award

Lizzie Barry, Ashlei Bobo, Sherie Mungo and Dominique Thomas
Given in memory of Mrs. Elizabeth Rae Hodkinson to students of high academic standing who have contributed to RHCS and have an interest in serving the University and local community.

Most Outstanding Debater
Ryan Smith
Given to the most successful debater on the team, someone who consistently goes above and beyond both in performance and dedication to the team.

Most Improved Debater
Liz Lauzon
Given to a student who makes significant improvements over the course of one season, often significant enough to progress from one competition level to another.

Most Outstanding JV Debater
James Farr & Flemming Schneider
Given to a student or students who come to Richmond with minimal debate experience but do exceptionally well competing in the junior varsity circuit.

Most Outstanding Novice Debater
Callie Dowdy
Given to a student with no previous debate experience who makes vast improvements over the course of their first year.

Dr. David Thomas Coach’s Award
Dan English & Jonathan Ward
Given to a student or students who exhibit a passion for the evaluation, generation and criticism of argument.

Researcher of the Year
Joe Chicvak
Given to a student who produces well laid out arguments with the best evidence possible.