The School of Professional & Continuing Studies is pleased to announce graduating student award recipients from the class of 2020. Although our campus closure during the coronavirus pandemic prohibits celebrating our students during our traditional awards ceremony, we proudly herald their achievements.

Award winners will receive by mail a certificate signed by Dean Jamelle Wilson and Associate Dean Tom Shields, a commemorative brochure describing the award and, where applicable, additional items included with the award, like gift certificates and books.

Commencement Awards

  • Richard W. Leatherman, Sr., and Ida Mae Leatherman Mace Award: Jerrod Hawkes
  • U.S. Flag Bearer: Kiana Bradford
  • University of Richmond Flag Bearer: Tammy Alexander
  • SPCS Banner Bearer: Tiffany Humphrey
  • Student Speaker Award: Brian Krach
  • Gibb Family Distinguished Alumni Award: Eric Beatty, ’01, GC’12
  • Itzkowitz Family Distinguished Adjunct Faculty Award: Meghan Rosatelli

Jean H. Proffitt Student Service Award: Sarah Petty

Annual Book Awards


  • James W. Lanham Award for Excellence in Curriculum and Instruction: Ian McClure
  • Catherine S. Fisher Award for Excellence in Educational Leadership: Beverly L. Cocke

Human Resource Management

  • Steve Neal Book Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Achievement: Katie Troy
  • Steve Neal Book Award for Outstanding Graduate Achievement: Noah Cox, Fletcher Cox

Information Systems

  • George E. Christopher and George W. Swartz Memorial Book Award: Robert Richards

IT Management

  • McDonald Davis Jr. Book Award: Ian Barclay

Liberal Arts

  • Kuehl Book Award in Recognition of Excellence in the Bachelor of Liberal Arts Program: Emily Ball
  • Daniel McDonald Roberts & Frances Taylor Roberts Master of Liberal Arts Memorial Book Award: Elizabeth Darling

Nonprofit Studies

  • Louis J. Narduzzi Memorial Book Award: Rachel Biundo

Paralegal Studies

  • William R. Marshall Jr. Memorial Book Award: Trish Messer

Teacher Licensure Program and Master of Teaching

  • Samuel E. Perry, Jr. & Nancy B. Perry Book Award (Grades K-6): Lindsey Winston
  • Ann C. Taylor Book Award (Grades 7-12): Cindy Weber

Additional Awards and Honors

  • Jean H. Proffitt Student Service Award: Sarah Petty
  • Elizabeth Spindler Scott Book Scholarship Award: Adrienne Stewart
  • Taylor Kie Cousins Award for Service to the University Community: Sarah Petty
  • Colonel Porcher L. Taylor, Jr., Ph.D. Book Award for Community Leadership: Grainne Murray
  • Joanita Bbaale Senoga Book Award in Recognition of Academic Excellence by a Student Whose Native Language is not English: Albana BourkeGabriella Kaszala
  • Graduate Education Comprehensive Exams — Passed with Distinction: Peyton AndersonBeverly CockeBrian ConlonDiane FlemmingBobby HertingAmanda HoltCameron JesseeJeanine MowbrayGráinne MurrayLyndsey NoelLindsey SmithPhilip Tickle 

Commemorative Awards Brochure